What Is the Minimum Wage in West Virginia?
Table of Contents
2019 Minimum Wage in West Virginia: $8.75 Per Hour
Since January 1st, 2016, the minimum wage in WV has been $8.75 per hour. West Virginia state law details which employers must pay minimum wage. The state division of labor FAQ states that a company is required to pay minimum wage when it employs six or more people in a single location, but that the rule applies based on that location, not on the company. Therefore, the same company could have a location with six employees, who are paid minimum wage, and a location with fewer than six, where state minimum wage would not apply (but federal minimum wage typically would).
Training Wage Rate: $6.40 Per Hour For 90 Days
The training wage rate applies only to employees who are under the age of 20 when hired. For those employees, the training wage applies for 90 days only. On the 91st day, the state minimum wage of $8.75 per hour applies.
Tipped: $2.62 Per Hour
The tipped cash wage rate is based on the amount that the state allows employers to take as a tip credit against the minimum wage. It’s important to remember that tipped employees must still make at least the state minimum wage of $8.75 per hour, but it’s a combined wage between what the employer pays and tipped money.
The state allows employers to take up to 70% of an employees wage in tip credits. For minimum wage, that means a tip credit of $6.13 per hour. If an employee doesn’t make enough tips to account for that $6.13 per hour, then the employer would be responsible for ensuring that they make at least minimum wage.
Taking the state minimum wage and multiplying it by a 40-hour, full-time workweek means a full-time minimum wage worker should make $350 in a week. Part-time employees will make less. This is gross income before taxes and other deductions are applied, so the net take-home will vary.
A minimum wage employee working 40 hours per week should make $18,200 a year, before deductions. This is found by multiplying the minimum wage weekly rate of $350 by 52 weeks in a year. This does not account for sick days taken, other types of time off, overtime pay, or deductions. The net take-home will also change depending on how each individual calculates their tax withholdings.
Overtime: $13.12 Per Hour
With some exceptions, the state overtime regulations require that workers be compensated at a rate of one and one-half times their base wage for every hour worked above 40 in a seven day period. For a worker making minimum wage, that calculates to $13.12 per hour. Overtime exemptions often apply to companies whose employees perform work considered “interstate commerce” activity.’
West Virginia Minimum Wage Increase News
In February of 2019, a bill was introduced to the West Virginia House which proposed to increase the state minimum wage to $12 per hour by 2022. It is unclear whether this legislation will succeed; for now, there has been no change in West Virginia’s minimum wage since 2016.
Image Source: https://depositphotos.com/
Ben Steele is a writer, theatre(re) professional, and nonprofit administrator. He was born in England, spent his teen and early 20s in Canada, and now lives in America. Please excuse his occasionally confused voice and the odd recalcitrant u after an o.
This post was updated July 15, 2019. It was originally published July 15, 2019.