What Is the Minimum Wage in Ohio State?
There are several exceptions to Ohio’s minimum wage, and it is adjusted for inflation yearly. This is the minimum wage situation in Ohio as of 2020:
Table of Contents
2020 Minimum Wage in Ohio: $8.70 per hour
- The employee is younger than 16 years old;
- The employer grosses less than $319,000;
- The employer is the United States Federal Government;
- The employee works as a babysitter or a caregiver in the employer’s home, and their duties do not include housekeeping;
- The employee works as an external salesman and is compensated by commission;
- If an individual volunteers for a public government agency, and is either not compensated or they do a different job for the government than they normally do;
- If a person volunteers for a hospital or health institution and does not seek compensation;
- The employee works at a camp for children under 18 that is owned and operated by a non-profit;
- The employee works for a family-owned and operated business and is related to the employer.
Tipped Minimum Wage: $4.35 per hour
In Ohio, tipped employees make $4.35 an hour, which includes any employee who regularly receives more than $30 per month in tips. These professions include wait staff, bell boys, and drivers. The nuances of tipping are a little complicated, but ultimately Ohio law draws a definitional line at $30 per month in tips.
However, employers must show that tipped employees have earned at least what they would have under the non-tipped minimum wage. So when a bell boy in Ohio adds up his tips and his $4.35 hourly wage, it needs to be at least $8.70 for every hour he worked. If it’s not, his employer is responsible for making up the difference.
A weekly wage for Ohioans who earn the minimum could be up to $348. This is calculated by taking the minimum wage, $8.70, and multiplying it by 40, the traditional number of hours that make up a full-time workweek. Not every employee works full-time, however, so each employee will need to take the number of hours that they work and multiply it by $8.70 to discover their weekly wage.
Annually, an Ohio resident who earns the minimum wage can make up to $18,096. The annual minimum wage is calculated by taking the weekly wage, $348, and multiplying it by 52, the number of weeks in a year. It is important to note that this dollar amount does not take taxes and benefits into consideration. If this is not enough to meet an employee’s needs, they should consider asking for a raise.
Ohio labor law mandates that employers pay one and one-half times the wage rate for any labor completed over 40 hours per week. One and a half times the minimum wage is $13.05. This is the minimum overtime wage, as in accordance with federal overtime regulations.
Ohio Minimum Wage Increase News
In 2006, Ohio passed a ballot measure that mandates that the minimum wage be increased every year to account for inflation.
Lawmakers throughout the years have tried to raise the minimum wage to $15 per hour, but they have been unsuccessful thus far.
Several groups lobbied to raise Cleveland’s minimum wage to $15 an hour, but others were concerned that this would cause businesses to leave Cleveland for other Ohio cities. In response, Governor John Kasich signed a bill in 2016 that prohibits communities from raising their minimum wage above the state’s minimum wage.
Image Source: https://depositphotos.com/
Dayton is a chronic Wikipedia addict, which is detrimental to her social life but stellar for her writing. She resides in Boise, ID, surrounded by her own frantic outlines, highlighted encyclopedias, and potatoes. The latter was not by choice.
This post was updated February 11, 2020. It was originally published July 18, 2019.