What Is the Minimum Wage in Wyoming State?
Minimum wage laws differ greatly between various states, and they seem to change constantly. Even within a single state, the standard minimum wage doesn’t always apply to every hourly employee. These differences can be confusing, and can make it incredibly difficult to keep track of what the minimum wage is in any given place.
In Wyoming, the minimum wage is currently $7.25 per hour, which is the same as the federal minimum wage. This minimum wage is not applicable to all employees in Wyoming, however. There are certain exemptions, including salaried employees, tipped workers, students, and newly hired employees under the age of 20.
Table of Contents
2019 Minimum Wage in Wyoming: $7.25 per hour
Wyoming is one of many states whose minimum wage is the same as the one set by the federal government. While some states have chosen to set their minimum wage at the same rate as the federal wage, others simply have not set a state minimum. Wyoming last raised its minimum wage to $5.15 per hour, and in 2009, the federal government increased it to its current rate. Employees in Wyoming are entitled to the higher federal rate.
Tipped: $5.15 per hour
Tipped employees can be paid an hourly wage of $5.15 per hour including tips, which is $2.10 less per hour than the statewide minimum wage. The U.S. Department of Labor defines a tipped employee as anyone “who customarily and regularly receives more than $30 per month in tips.” Common examples of tipped employees include hosts and hostesses, waiters and waitresses, bartenders, bellhops and other hospitality industry workers, hairstylists, and tattoo artists.
Employers can take a maximum tip credit of $3.02 per hour, resulting in an hourly rate of $2.13 per hour, excluding tips. This is the lowest cash wage allowed in any state that is still in legal compliance with the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).
Tipped employees are paid less because it’s expected that they will earn tips in an amount greater than the hourly tip credit taken from their hourly wage. However, tipping etiquette isn’t always clear, and tipped employees may not earn enough tips to warrant their employers taking a full tip credit. In that case, employers cannot take a tip credit, or can take a smaller one. No matter how large of a tip credit is taken, tipped employees can never be paid less than $5.15 per hour.
Student: $6.16 per hour
Per federal law, full-time high school and college students in Wyoming can be paid 85 percent of the state minimum wage, which amounts to $6.16 per hour. Students can only be paid this rate in certain positions, like university work-study programs, and only for up to 20 hours of work per week when school is in session.
Under 20: $ 4.25 per hour
Also according to the FLSA, newly hired workers under the age of 20 can be paid a training wage of $4.25 per hour during their first 90 days of employment. Once they are over the age of 20, or after 90 days of employment, they are entitled to the standard minimum wage.
Weekly: $290.00 per week
Employees who earn the minimum wage in Wyoming can expect to earn $290.00 each week. This is assuming an employee works a full 40-hour workweek and it does not account for any time off, holiday pay, overtime, benefit withholdings, or taxes. Actual take-home pay will likely differ.
Annually: $15,080 per year
Employees who earn the minimum wage in Wyoming can expect to earn $15,080 each year. This amount assumes that an employee works a full 40-hour workweek for each of the 52 weeks in a calendar year. This amount does not include any time off, holiday pay, overtime pay, benefit withholdings, or taxes. Actual take-home pay will likely differ, as few employees are able to work full-time without taking any time off.
Overtime: $10.88 per hour
In Wyoming, employees who work overtime are to be paid a minimum of 1.5 times their regular wage. If someone is paid minimum wage, they earn 1.5 times the standard rate of $7.25, resulting in an hourly overtime rate of $10.88 per hour.
Overtime laws vary between states. While some require employees to be paid overtime after working a certain number of hours in a single day, the state of Wyoming has not passed any specific overtime legislation. Instead, Wyoming is subject to the overtime laws dictated by the FLSA. This law requires employees to work more than 40 hours in a week before they are entitled to the overtime rate.
Wyoming Minimum Wage Increase News
There have been several attempts to raise the minimum wage in Wyoming over the past few years, all of which have failed to pass through the state legislature. In fact, the state of Wyoming has not increased its minimum wage since 2001, when it was set to $5.15 per hour. The federal rate was increased to $7.25 per hour in 2009, which supersedes the lower state rate, and representing the last successful wage increase for the residents of Wyoming.
House Bill 273
The most recent of these attempts was House Bill 273, which would have increased the minimum wage to $8.50 per hour. It failed in the state House of Representatives after a 36-23 vote opposing the bill in February 2019. There was a provision to increase the minimum wage $0.25 per year through 2024, until it reached $9.75 per hour.
As of mid-2019, there are no plans to raise the statewide minimum wage in Wyoming. However, legislators, lobbyists, and activists have been fighting to increase the minimum wage in Wyoming for years, and they may continue to this fight with new legislation in the future.
Image Source: https://depositphotos.com/
This post was updated July 15, 2019. It was originally published July 15, 2019.