What Is the Minimum Wage in South Dakota State?
South Dakota’s minimum wage continues to rise each year in step with the Consumer Price Index, and will never go down. It is already higher than the federal minimum but is not yet at the popular $15 per hour mark.
Table of Contents
2019 Minimum Wage in South Dakota: $9.10 per hour
The minimum wage in South Dakota, $9.10 per hour, is higher than the federal minimum wage. This is only for non-exempt workers, as exempt or salary workers are paid a flat rate instead of per hour. There are also exemptions for minimum wage in line with the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). These include: seasonal amusement or recreational establishment employees; babysitters or outside salespersons; trainees and apprentices; and people with a developmental disability.
Tipped: $9.10 per hour
The minimum tipped wage in South Dakota is $4.55 per hour, which does not include the amount provided by tips. There is a $4.55 tip credit. In total, a tipped employee will receive no less than $9.10 per hour. This is higher than what is required by the FLSA and meets the state general minimum wage.
This weekly $364.00 assumes a typical 40-hour workweek at the $9.10 per hour rate, but doesn’t take into account an individual’s income tax withholdings.
The annual estimate assumes a typical 52-week per-year, 40-hour per-week position at the $9.10 per hour rate, but again, it does not account for any withholding, so the actual take-home pay will be lower for minimum wage workers. Additionally, the actual number may be different due to a worker not working full time or taking unpaid time off; this amount also does not include any holiday pay. For comparison, an E1 private in the Army makes $20,170.80. There are, however, disadvantages to military careers most civilian jobs don’t have to worry about.
This assumes the federal rate of 1.5 times the state minimum wage, $9.10.
South Dakota Minimum Wage Increase News
South Dakota’s minimum wage is tied to the Consumer Price Index, which is designed to rise along with inflation, thanks to a 2004 state amendment. The state minimum wage is re-evaluated each year, increasing with the index, and rounded to the nearest 5 cents. The minimum wage cannot decrease, even if the index does.
The minimum wage increased by 25 cents from $8.85 to $9.10 per hour on Jan. 1, 2019. This was a 2.7 percent increase.
If the yearly increase does not keep up with your personal cost of living, consider asking for a raise or taking part in the gig economy, where it is possible to earn more money depending on how many assignments you take.
Image Source: https://depositphotos.com/
A former newspaper journalist, Cole spends his free time reading, writing, playing video games, watching movies, and learning about every subject under the sun. He lives with his wife and daughter in Idaho. Follow Cole on Twitter: @ColeMayer42
This post was updated July 11, 2019. It was originally published July 11, 2019.