What Is the Minimum Wage in South Carolina?
South Carolina’s minimum wage is the same as the federal minimum wage. South Carolina has no minimum wage laws of its own, but bills have been introduced to change this.
Table of Contents
2019 Minimum Wage in South Carolina: $7.25 per hour
The minimum wage in South Carolina, $7.25 per hour, is equal to the federal minimum wage, as the state has no wage laws of its own. This only applies to non-exempt workers, as exempt or salary workers are paid a flat rate instead of per hour. There are also exemptions for minimum wage in line with the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). These include: seasonal amusement or recreational establishment employees; babysitters or outside salespersons; trainees and apprentices; and people with developmental disabilities.
Tipped: $7.25 per hour
The minimum tipped wage in South Carolina is $2.13 per hour, which does not include the amount provided by tips. There is a $5.12 tip credit. In total, a tipped employee will receive no less than $7.25 per hour. As South Carolina does not have any tip or wage laws, this falls in line with federal laws, and meets the state general minimum wage.
This weekly $290.00 assumes a typical 40-hour workweek at the $7.25 per hour rate, but doesn’t take into account an individual’s income tax withholdings.
The annual estimate assumes a typical 52-week per-year, 40-hour per-week position at the $7.25 per hour rate, but again, does not account for any withholding, so the actual take-home pay will be lower for minimum wage workers. Additionally, the actual number may be different due to deductions such as taxes, or instances of unpaid time off; this amount also does not include any holiday pay. For comparison, this is quite a bit lower than the $20,170.80 an E1 private in the Army makes. However, military careers do have disadvantages that do not apply to most civilian jobs.
This assumes the federal rate of 1.5 times the federal minimum wage, $7.25.
South Carolina Minimum Wage Increase News
South Carolina does not have wage or tip laws of its own, and, thus, uses the federal laws. However, there were two bills introduced in January 2019 that could increase the minimum wage.
The first, H.3217, proposes raising the minimum wage to $10.10 per hour over three years, starting on Jan. 1, 2020.
Meanwhile, H.2295 would raise the minimum wage to $12 per hour, also over the course of three years.
The minimum wage in South Carolina was last raised in 2008.
If the bills do not pass, and the minimum wage is not sufficient for you, consider asking for a raise. If you are comfortable doing more work, consider taking part in the gig economy, where it is possible to earn more money, depending on how many assignments you take on.
Image Source: https://depositphotos.com/
A former newspaper journalist, Cole spends his free time reading, writing, playing video games, watching movies, and learning about every subject under the sun. He lives with his wife and daughter in Idaho. Follow Cole on Twitter: @ColeMayer42
This post was updated July 16, 2019. It was originally published July 16, 2019.