What Is the Minimum Wage in Oklahoma State?
For the most part, Oklahoma follows the federal minimum wage and associated legislation, however, they do have some state-specific rules concerning exemptions from the regular minimum wage.
Table of Contents
- 1 2020 Minimum Wage in Oklahoma: $7.25 Per Hour
- 2 Oklahoma Minimum Wage Increase News
2020 Minimum Wage in Oklahoma: $7.25 Per Hour
Oklahoma is one of several states that follow the federal minimum wage instead of setting their own minimum wage.
The legislation concerning which kinds of employers are required to pay minimum wage is, however, slightly different. In Oklahoma, employers with 10 or more employees at one location, or with sales over $100,000 annually, are subject to minimum wage requirements.
Special Minimum Wage: $2.00 Per Hour
For any employees that aren’t covered by Oklahoma’s laws or federal laws regarding minimum wage, there is a special minimum wage of $2.00 per hour. This would, for example, apply to a business of fewer than 10 employees, and less than $100,000 in annual gross sales.
Tipped Minimum Wage: $2.13 Per Hour
Employees who earn tips must receive at least $2.13 in wages per hour. Oklahoma follows the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) for tipped employees. The tipped minimum wage is calculated based on a maximum tip credit of $5.12 that an employee can apply to the minimum wage, resulting in a paid minimum of $2.13 per hour for workers classified as tipped workers. This most commonly includes restaurant servers and other service industry workers.
Weekly Minimum Wage: $290 Per 40-Hour Week
Oklahomans make at least $290 in a 40-hour workweek. This isn’t so much a stated wage, but rather the calculation of what a minimum wage worker could earn, before deductions, in one 40-hour week. This will not reflect actual take-home pay — taxes and other deductions will be applied as required.
Annual Minimum Wage: $15,080
If an Oklahoma citizen worked a full-time job all year for minimum wage, they could make $15,080. Again, the annual minimum wage income is a raw calculation of the $7.25 minimum expressed over the period of one year working full-time, 40 hours a week, all year. It doesn’t take deductions, taxes, or time off into account. Unpaid sick days would result in a lower annual wage amount, and the amount would also be smaller after figuring in tax deductions. For salaried employees, this is a useful baseline to keep in mind.
Overtime Minimum Wage: $10.88 Per Hour Above 40 Hours in a Week
Employees working for minimum wage will earn $10.88 per hour for overtime. Oklahoma’s overtime is counted by week, not by day, so an employee would be entitled to overtime, based on the federally mandated rate of 1.5 times the minimum wage, after 40 hours of work in one week.
Oklahoma Minimum Wage Increase News
As of January 2019, a bill has been introduced into state legislature to raise Oklahoma’s minimum wage from the federal minimum of $7.25 to $10.50 per hour. Its fate in the 2020 legislative session is unknown, although considering responses to previous attempts to raise Oklahoma’s minimum wage, success in the near future seems unlikely.
Image Source: https://depositphotos.com/
Ben Steele is a writer, theatre(re) professional, and nonprofit administrator. He was born in England, spent his teen and early 20s in Canada, and now lives in America. Please excuse his occasionally confused voice and the odd recalcitrant u after an o.
This post was updated February 10, 2020. It was originally published March 11, 2019.