What Is the Minimum Wage in New York State?

Cole Mayer  | 

2019 Minimum Wage in New York: $11.10 per hour

The statewide minimum wage in New York is $11.10, except in Long Island and Westchester, where the minimum wage is higher at $12. New York City also has its own minimum wage — see below for more information. This is only for non-exempt workers, as exempt or salary workers are paid a flat rate instead of per hour. Fast food workers in the state have a slightly higher starting minimum wage statewide at $12.00.

Tipped: $7.50

The statewide minimum tipped wage in New York is $7.50 with a $3.60 tip credit for the food industry. For service employees such as bartenders, hair stylists, valets, or golf caddies, the statewide minimum tipped wage is $9.25 with $1.85 tip credits. For Long Island and Westchester, this raises to $8.00 with $4.00 tip credit and $10.00 with $2.00 tip credit, respectively. See below for more information on New York City.

Weekly: $444.00

This assumes a typical 40-hour work week at the $11.10 per hour rate, but doesn’t take into account an individual’s income tax withholdings.

Annually: $23,088.00

This assumes a typical 52-week, 40-hour-per-week position at the $11.10 per hour rate, but again, does not account for any withholding, so the actual take-home pay will be lower for minimum wage workers. Additionally, the actual number may be different due to a worker not working full time or taking unpaid time off; this amount also does not include any holiday pay.

Overtime: $16.65

This assumes the federal rate of 1.5 times the state minimum wage, $11.10 per hour.

NYC Minimum Wage

In New York City, minimum wages are different depending on whether the employer is small (10 or fewer employees) or large (11 or more employees):

  • Minimum wage: $13.50 for small employers, $15.00 for large employers.
    • Tipped:
  • Food service workers: $9.00 with $4.50 tip credits for small employers, $10.00 with $5.00 tip credits for large employers.
  • Service employees: $11.25 with $2.25 tip credits for small employers, $12.50 with $2.50 tip credits for large employers.
  • Weekly: $540 at $13.50 per hour, assuming a typical 40-hour work week.
  • Annually: $28,080 assuming a typical 52-week schedule. This does not account for time off or holidays.

NYC Minimum Wage for Fast Food Workers

  • Minimum wage: $15.00 per hour.
  • Weekly: $600.00 per week, assuming working 40 hours.
  • Annually: $31,200.00, assuming a typical 52-week schedule. This does not account for time off or holidays.

NYC Minimum Wage for App-Based Drivers

  • Minimum wage: $17.22 per hour after expenses. This does not include any extra money made from rides.
  • Weekly: $688.80 per week, assuming working 40 hours.
  • Annually: $35,817.60, assuming working 52 weeks at 40 hours per week. This does not include holidays.

The federal minimum wage has been $7.50 since 2009. New York’s minimum wage is higher than this. There are also different minimum wages, known as wage orders, that affect workers in the hospitality, building service, and farm industries. These and other jobs, such as babysitters, fall under the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act.

For comparison, an E1 private in the US Army with less than two years of experience makes about $20,200, though benefits are not counted in this number.

The minimum wage standard also does not apply to those working in the gig economy, who may make more or less, depending on jobs they take.

New York City passed a historic law at the end of 2018 to give a minimum wage to app-based drivers, such as Lyft and Uber, in an attempt to provide more money to the drivers.

New York Minimum Wage Increase News

Across the state, the minimum wage is rising each year on Dec. 31 as part of a plan to bring the base minimum wage up to $15 per hour, or $10 per hour for tipped workers.

According to the state Department of Labor, in New York City, as of the end of 2018, large employers meet this obligation. Small employers will meet this obligation by the end of 2019, and Long Island and Westchester companies will meet this obligation by 2021.

The rest of the state has a published increase per year until 2021, when the state Commissioner of Labor will publish the increase each October, “percentage increases determined by the Director of the Division of Budget, based on economic indices, including the Consumer Price Index.” If you are in need of more money on a faster schedule, however, consider asking for a raise.


Image Sourcehttps://depositphotos.com/

A former newspaper journalist, Cole spends his free time reading, writing, playing video games, watching movies, and learning about every subject under the sun. He lives with his wife and daughter in Idaho. Follow Cole on Twitter: @ColeMayer42

This post was updated June 5, 2019. It was originally published March 14, 2019.