What Is the Minimum Wage in New Hampshire State?
Table of Contents
2020 Minimum Wage in New Hampshire: $7.25 per hour
The New Hampshire minimum wage follows the federal minimum wage, which is set at $7.25 an hour for non-exempt employees — making it the only New England state with a minimum wage under $10 per hour. Exempt employees include people engaged in household labor, domestic labor, farm labor, outside sales representatives, workers at summer camps for minors, newspaper carriers, non-professional ski patrol members, and golf caddies, according to the New Hampshire Department of Labor.
Tipped: $3.27 per hour
According to the New Hampshire Department of Labor, tipped employees (meaning employees at restaurants, hotels, motels, inns, or cabins who customarily receive more than $30 a month in tips) cannot be paid less than 45% of the minimum wage in New Hampshire.
Given the current minimum wage, this means that the minimum wage for tipped employees is set at $3.27 an hour. If a tipped employee does not make $3.98 an hour in tips, which would earn them a total of $7.25 an hour, the employer must make up the difference.
Assuming a worker works a full 40-hour workweek at minimum wage, they could expect to make $290 a week in New Hampshire.
If a person worked 52 full-time workweeks at 40 hours a week, they could expect to earn $15,080 in that year. However, this amount does not include tax withholdings, so an employee’s actual yearly take-home would be less than this amount.
Overtime: $10.88 per hour
Like the regular minimum wage, the New Hampshire minimum wage for overtime work tracks the federal standard. According to federal law, non-exempt employees are to be paid no less than $10.88 an hour, which is one-and-a-half times the standard minimum wage.
New Hampshire Minimum Wage Increase News
During the 2019 session, the New Hampshire state legislature considered raising the minimum wage. Several competing proposals are on the table. The New Hampshire House of Representatives passed a bill that would raise the minimum wage to $9.50 an hour by 2020, with a gradual increase to $12 an hour by 2022.
Meanwhile, the Senate passed its own bill, which would raise the minimum wage to $10 an hour in 2020 and then to either $11 or $12 an hour in 2021, with the amount depending on other benefits offered by an employer.
However, New Hampshire Governor Chris Sununu vetoed a bill that would have increased New Hampshire’s minimum wage to $10 per hour in 2020 and $12 per hour in 2022. According to Isabelle Gustafson, writer for CStore Decisions, “Sununu cited studies that show how other states and cities that have raised the minimum wage have seen take-home pay decline because minimum wage workers have their hours cut or their jobs eliminated.”
Proponents of the minimum wage increase argue that New Hampshire’s current minimum wage is not a living wage for most people in the state. They think that a higher wage, like some of the amounts proposed above, would help people who live and work in New Hampshire to enjoy a little more financial security.
Republicans in the New Hampshire legislature and the state’s Republican governor, Chris Sununu, have voiced their opposition to raising the minimum wage in the state.
Image Source: https://depositphotos.com/
Nick Cesare is a writer from Boise, ID. In his free time he enjoys rock climbing and making avocado toast.
This post was updated February 10, 2020. It was originally published April 10, 2019.