What Is the Minimum Wage in Mississippi?
Mississippi is one of the several states that does not have a minimum wage. Instead, the state defers to The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) — which mandates a minimum wage rate of $7.25 per hour. Mississippi House Bill 366 was proposed in 2017 to establish a Mississippi minimum wage law. Ultimately, the bill that would increase the Mississippi minimum wage to $10 per hour failed. Today, all nonexempt employees will earn a minimum wage of $7.25 in Mississippi.
Table of Contents
2019 Minimum Wage in Mississippi: $7.25 per hour
While the minimum wage is set at $7.25 per hour, different types of Mississippi employees who earn minimum wage may see variances in their paychecks. For instance, one employee may work overtime, while another may work in the gig economy, working beyond or below the typical 40-hour workweek. While these amounts may vary, rough estimates can be calculated for a standard weekly and annual wage, for tipped employees, as well as for those who work overtime.
Tipped: $7.25 per hour
Mississippi employers can exact a $5.12 tax credit for tipped employees. While a tipped employee may earn no less than $7.25 per hour (including tips), they may be paid a minimum cash wage of $2.13 if they are receiving enough tips that they ultimately earn the minimum wage. Mississippi does not indicate a tip amount required to be considered a tipped employee, and, because of this, any employee who receives tips in Mississippi is deemed a tipped employee.
Weekly: $290.00 per week
For a typical 40-hour workweek, a Mississippi employee will earn $290.00 — assuming they take no time off, work no overtime, and/or receive no holiday pay. Working 40 hours at a rate of $7.25 per hour, a Mississippi employee will generally see a $290 paycheck before state and federal tax deductions.
Annually: $15,080 per year
If a Mississippi state employee worked every hour of a 40-hour workweek and received no overtime or holiday pay, they would earn roughly $15,080 over the 52 weeks of the year. This wage, again, is calculated before state and federal tax deductions — so an average yearly wage may be lower.
Overtime: $10.88 per hour
Employees who work over 40 hours in a standard workweek will be authorized to receive overtime pay at a rate of time-and-a-half. This means that a Mississippi employee will earn their regular minimum wage ($7.25) plus half of their wage ($3.63) — which is a total of $10.88 per each hour exceeding the regular 40 hours.
Mississippi Minimum Wage Increase News
Despite the failure of House Bill 366, legislators still hope to increase the minimum wage for the state of Mississippi. Although it is unclear whether any new bill has been proposed, policymakers have expressed interest in providing a better minimum wage as well as equal pay for the state.
Image Source: https://depositphotos.com/
Desmond Rhodes is a writer out of the Northwest. A philosopher, gamer, and enjoys his Hunter S. Thompson.
This post was updated July 3, 2019. It was originally published July 3, 2019.