What Is the Minimum Wage in Delaware State?
Delaware’s minimum wage laws are rapidly changing. Different rates apply to different groups, and new laws will gradually increase the minimum wage until it reaches $10.25 in 2021.
Table of Contents
Your Credit Scores Should Be Free
And Now They Are!See My Scores
2020 Minimum Wage in Delaware: $9.25 per hour
The minimum wage in Delaware is $9.25 per hour, which is higher than the federal minimum wage of $7.25 per hour. Delaware has committed to raising its minimum wage in accordance with the Consumer Price Index, in order to keep up with inflation.
That being said, there are some exceptions to Delaware’s minimum wage law. Delaware workers may be paid a training wage of $8.75 an hour for the first 90 days on a new job. There is also a minimum wage for workers between the ages of 14 and 17 of $8.75 per hour.
Employees are entitled to the state minimum wage of $9.25 per hour unless they also fall under the category for federal minimum wage exemptions. These exceptions apply to:
- Employees working in agriculture;
- Employees working in a private home as a domestic helper;
- Salespeople paid by outside commission;
- Employees working in fishing or fish processing at sea;
- Junior camp counselors, provided that the camp program is run by a non-profit;
- Federal employees;
- Volunteer workers for nonprofits;
- Bonafide executives, administrators, and professionals;
- Inmates in work programs.
Tipped: $2.23 per hour
Tipped employees only have to receive $2.23 per hour worked under Delaware law. The assumption is that they make up the difference in tips. Any employee that regularly receives more than $30 per month in tips is considered a “tipped employee.”
If tipped employees do not make at least $9.25 per hour when adding their tips to their hourly wage, then the employer must make up the difference.
Delaware employees who work full-time and earn minimum wage can make $370 per week. The weekly minimum wage is calculated by taking the hourly minimum wage ($9.25) and multiplying it by 40, the number of hours traditionally worked in a full workweek.
Delaware employees who work full-time and earn minimum wage can make $19,240 per year. The annual minimum wage is calculated by taking the weekly minimum wage ($370) and multiplying it by 52, the number of weeks in a year. This results in $19,240 per year. This does not take into account taxes, time off, or holiday pay.
Overtime: $13.88 per hour
Overtime pay kicks in after an employee has worked more than 40 hours in a week. Each hour after that is worth 1.5 the employee’s hourly wage. Since the minimum wage is $9.25, the overtime minimum wage is $13.88 per hour.
Delaware Minimum Wage Increase News
In 2019, the Delaware legislature considered a bill that would raise the state’s minimum wage even further to $15, making it one of several states to join a growing movement in support of a $15 minimum wage. However, this bill was not made into law.
Image Source: https://depositphotos.com/
Dayton is a chronic Wikipedia addict, which is detrimental to her social life but stellar for her writing. She resides in Boise, ID, surrounded by her own frantic outlines, highlighted encyclopedias, and potatoes. The latter was not by choice.