No matter where you live or how much money you make, chances are you’re required to pay taxes. Whether you’ve just moved or simply need a refresher, it’s important to understand the tax laws in Kansas if you’re a resident or business owner in the state. If you miscalculate the taxes you owe, pay late, or don’t pay at all, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) has a laundry list of tax delinquency consequences you could face, including:
- Interest charges on the taxes you owe.
- Penalty fees.
- Liens on your property.
- Seizure of your assets.
- Garnishment of your wages.
- An interception of your tax refund.
Review this guide to find out more about Kansas taxes, due dates, and other important information so you can pay the right amount on time.
Table of Contents
Kansas Income Tax
The bracket you fall into depends on how much you earned throughout the year. You will fall into one of the three following tax brackets:
- Earned $30,000 or less in taxable income: 3.1%;
- Earned more than $30,000 but less than $60,000 in taxable income: $930 plus 5.25% of income over $30,000;
- Earned more than $60,000 in taxable income: $2,505 plus 5.7% of income over $60,000.
If you’re an individual filer, your Kansas taxes are due the same day as your federal taxes. Generally, these taxes are due on April 15 every year. However, if April 15 falls on a weekend or federal holiday, taxes are due the next business day.
Kansas Sales Tax
The statewide sales tax in Kansas is 6.5%. This means when you make eligible purchases in the state, you’ll owe an additional 6.5% of your purchase total. While the 6.5% sales tax is standard throughout the state, there are several cities and counties in Kansas that charge additional sales tax, such as:
- Herington (Dickinson): 10%;
- Herington (Morris): 9.5%;
- Thomas County: 8.25%;
- Brewster: 8.5%;
- Colby: 9%;
- Gem: 8.25%;
- Menlo: 8.25%;
- Oakley (Thomas): 8.75%;
- Rexford: 8.25%.
The state retailer’s sales tax and compensating use tax is 6.5% but the local retailer’s sales tax can increase up to 2% for special counties or cities. It may increase by 3% for special general locations as well.
Kansas Property Tax
If you own property in Kansas, you must pay property taxes to the state. You may owe estate taxes to the federal government if your property has transferred ownership. Property is divided into two categories: homes and commercial property or agriculture, vehicles, industrial and commercial machinery.
Homes and Commercial Property
If you own a home or commercial property, a county appraiser values your property to determine how much you owe in taxes each year. When the appraiser completes the valuation, it’s mailed to your home by March 1. The amount of taxes you owe depends on your city and county government’s current tax rate.
The appraised value of your home must be multiplied by 11.5% to determine its assessed value. Once the assessed value of your property is determined, it’s multiplied by your county’s mill levy, which is the tax rate applied to the value of your property. One mill equals one dollar per $1,000 dollars of assessed property value.
You should receive your tax bill no later than the end of November. Your real estate taxes are due on or before December 20. If you only pay half of your taxes on this date, the other half is due on or before May 10 of the following year.
Agriculture, Vehicles, and Industrial and Commercial Machinery
Your personal property is also taxed in Kansas. You’re responsible for registering and listing your taxable personal property with the county. The fair market value of your personal property is used to determine the taxes you owe.
The Kansas Personal Property Valuation Guide provides details on how your personal property is assessed and the taxes you may owe on this property. For example, the assessment rate used for a motor vehicle is 20%.
The first half of your property taxes are due on November 1. If the first half isn’t paid by December 21, the full tax amount is due plus interest. The second half of your property taxes are by May 10 of the following year.
Other Taxes in Kansas
In addition to property, sales, and income taxes, you may be required to pay other taxes as a Kansas resident.
While possessing and/or selling marijuana and other drugs is illegal, Kansas still has tax laws in place to deal with the handling of these illegal substances. A person who possesses these drugs must purchase drug tax stamps from the DOR that equal the value of the drugs in possession. These stamps must be attached to the drugs after purchase and are valid for three months.
If drugs are seized without these drug tax stamps, it can result in additional criminal penalties, such as fines, liens, or the seizure of property. Drug tax stamps are required for illegal drugs but they don’t make these drugs legal.
In addition to the state income tax in Kansas, you may owe an intangible tax for any income you’ve made throughout the year from:
- Savings accounts.
- Accounts receivables.
If you owe more than $5 in taxes, you must file an intangibles tax return with your local county clerk before April 15.
Filing Taxes in Kansas
The easiest way to file taxes in Kansas is online through the DOR’s website. When you complete a free online application with the department and provide your bank account information, tax refunds are deposited directly into your account when applicable.
When you create an online account with the DOR, you may log in to file taxes, check the status of your filing, make electronic payments, and view your online activity. You can also view and print forms and publications related to your taxes when logged into the site.
Kansas has unique tax laws and calculations so it’s important to know the types of taxes that apply to your situation. By learning more about the taxes you owe, how they’re calculated, and when they’re due, you can avoid serious consequences from the IRS.
Image Source: https://depositphotos.com/
Our Experts Recently Evaluated The Top 5 Credit Repair Companies Available.